2016 Annual POPAI Business Meeting

POPAI Board Meeting Minutes for 09/08/2016

12:15 PM


  • Linda Brady, President
  • Adam McQueen, Vice President
  • Christine Kerl, Treasurer
  • Susan Bentley, Secretary
  • Steve Keele, District 2 Rep
  • Sarah Lochner, District 3 Rep
  • Lakisha Fisher, District 4 Rep
  • C.J. Miller, District 5 Rep
  • Brian Sharp, District 7 Rep
  • Cherie Wood, District 8 Rep
  • Eric Zimmerman, Past President
  • Troy Hatfield, PO Advisory Board Rep
  • Greg Werich, Chief Exec Committee
  • Susan Rice, Training Coordinator

Secretary's Report

No report given.

Treasurer's Report

Christine Kerl provided updated bank balances to the membership.


STARTING BALANCE as of 9/1/15 $ 53,880.19
TOTAL DEPOSITS $ 91,860.29
TOTAL EXPENSES $ 81,089.87
BALANCE AS OF 9/1/16 $ 64,650.61

STARTING BALANCE as of 9/1/15 $ 17,033.65
BALANCE AS OF 9/1/15 $ 17,037.06

TOTAL ASSETS AS OF 9/1/16 $ 81,687.67
(Increase of $10,773.83 from 9/1/15)

TOTAL ASSETS AS OF 9/1/15 $ 70,913.84




Troy Hatfield, chair of Membership Committee reported:

  • 842 POs
  • TOTAL 897 individual members
  • 34 Corporate Members
  • More than half of Indiana’s approximately 1400 probation officers are POPAI members.


No report given.

Chief's Executive Committee

No report given.

Juvenile Delinquency Alternative Initiative (JDAI) Update

No report given.

Probation Officer Advisory Board Update

Troy Hatfield reported that the 2017 PO Annual Meeting would be Tue. May 16 and Wed. May 17.



Election results were presented by Election Committee Chair Brian Sharp.

Contested race: President – Linda Brady, Monroe County


Secretary – Susan Bentley, Hendricks County

District 2 – Steve Keele, Allen County Adult

District 4 – Lakisha Fisher, Grant County

District 6 – No slated nominee.  Two nominations from the floor for District 6 representative: Andria Giegle, Montgomery County, nominated by Eric Cutts and 2nd by Rachel Young; and Kim Heck, Tippecanoe County, nominated by Megan Holbrook and 2nd by Joe Hooker.  Election will be via email and fax vote to the District.

District 8 – Cherie Wood, Vanderburgh County

Awards and Recognition

CJ Miller, chair POPAI Awards and Recognition Committee:

PO of the Year Award:  Edward Beber of Whitley County Probation Department.

Rookie of the Year Award.  No nominees this year.

Recognition of outgoing Board members Joe Hooker, Tippecanoe County, District 6 Representative and Mignon Ware, Vanderburgh County, Secretary.

At Opening Session, the Founder’s Award was presented to Susan Rice, Miami County.


No report given.


POPAI Website Administrator Karen Odeing:

  • Email Karen with website questions, suggestions, article suggestions, and IF you forget your members-only password.
  • If you want help posting jobs, email Karen. She will post for you and add any attachments such as job descriptions.  Job postings continue to be the #1 link visited on the POPAI website.
  • Reminder that POPAI now has a LinkedIn and FaceBook presence. LIKE us on FaceBook!

Old Business

New Business

SAVE THE DATE 2017 POPAI FALL Training: Fall Conference:  September 6,7,8 French Lick Resort.  These dates will keep hotel prices frozen and locked in at this year’s rate.

Next Meeting Next Annual Business Meeting: Thursday September 7, 2017, at POPAI Fall Training, French Lick Resort.

Reminder Upcoming POPAI Training